Photo by Ben Spark

Photo by Ben Spark

Well it’s time to dust of the learning blog again and track my progress in a new Learning 2.0 adventure.

What’s different for me this time is that I’m running the program! That doesn’t mean I’m suddenly an expert and can teach others about emerging technology – far from it. I have learnt more than ever in the last few weeks and months as this project has come together.

The place where I work (CityLibraries Townsville) launched CityLibrariesLearning – discover*play*connect yesterday.

I am keen to blog my progress as I learn lots of new things throughout this program.

So far I havee explored a lot more features on WordPress, I have edited videos using Windows Movie Maker, converted the file format of those videos, I have uploaded videos to YouTube and embedded those videos on the learning blog – all new things for me. What continues to amaze me is that I used the “help” pages of these tools only a few times. These online tools are so very easy to use – you just have to follow the steps and instructions and in no time you havea blog with fully-functioning videos!

On top of the Learning 2.0 program is another exciting project. Dr Michael Stephens has been appointed the 2009 CAVAL┬áVisiting Scholar and his research project investigating the effectiveness of learning 2.0 programs will be using our program as a case study. More details about the┬áresearch project can be found on my other blog and Michael’s Tame the Web blog here and here. So as part of that project, I have learnt a lot about academic research, online surveys, and how to communicate effectively with someone on the other side of the world using email, instant messaging and Skype.

